America: Jingle Week 21 Entry

Truth is walked up the scaffold,
In the shadows I saw you,
Watching me.
Looking to see what I hold,
Close to my heart true,
As You know I do not see.
A mask we hide,
But Death’s dream kingdom,
Has laid claim to us all,
Like tower of Babel,
Together we will certainly fall.
The blood dimmed tide,
Washed up the shore,
All the strivings of our hands,
Without a mask to hide, we are no more.
To all this our hands, ring the joyful bell.
—-
******“ It so nice to see you, are you doing alright?’
******“Just fine we got a house two cars and a dog, (never mind the divorce settlement, drug strung kid in discontent, or the neighbor who can’t make the rent,) Yeah living high on the hog, we should meet again…”
ἀκούσας δὲ ὁ νεανίσκος τὸν λόγον ἀπῆλθεν λυπούμενος, ἦν γὰρ ἔχων κτήματα πολλά.
—–
My fingers are rotting,
Sores that will not heal, Stinging
Numbness and I cannot feel,
I am nothing I am me.
Yet hope is in the whispers,
I set my eyes to Galilee
I, among other lepers,
Looking for the Son of Man.

-js

Notes:
First off, this is not meant to bash America. I love my country that is why i will freely critique some of our social norms.
Tower or Babel, see Genesis 11:1-9. They thought they could build the perfect world with their own effort.
Poems Alluded to: “The Present Crisis” By James Lowe. He wrote in the 19th century when America was making gains by exploiting slaves. (Currently, Coacoa from West Africa is harvested by slaves, makes it pretty important to know if the company supply chain is fair traded.) Who is the “you” I referred to?
“The Hollow Men” T.S. Eliot. “The Second Coming” by W.B. Yeats refers to our desperate attempt to get more, we destroy the innocent and beautiful.
The Greek Translation is a qoute from Matthew 19:22. “When the young man heard this, he went away sad because he had great wealth.”

In 1st century palestine, lepers were social outcasts who knew they needed help and things were seriously wrong. They could not kid themselves, because they felt it painfully in the disease and social stigma everyday of their life.

What are some of your comments?

About Joe Suzz

I probably don't fit into your box. View all posts by Joe Suzz

13 responses to “America: Jingle Week 21 Entry

Leave a comment